CEDAW – Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women is an international treaty adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly. It is an international bill of rights for women, which came into force on the 3rd of September 1981. It was ratified by 188 states. CEDAW is the only international human rights treaty that focuses on women’s rights.

Cities for CEDAW proposes to implement the treaty by passing ordinances in individual cities and states. For a treaty to be enacted, all national laws must be brought into concurrence. Since the United States has a federal system of government it is not possible for the federal government to regularize every city ordinance in the entire country.

For more information on the Cities for CEDAW campaign, please click here and on the links below:

Cities for CEDAW

Los Angeles for CEDAW

Louisville for CEDAW

San Francisco for CEDAW

Washington for CEDAW


Cities for CEDAW (C4C) — No Comments

Leave a Reply